NYT ’08 Notable List

It’s that time of year, for one of my favorite book round-ups. The New York Times has published its annual “100 Notable Books of 2008.”

New York Times

Credit: New York Times

I’ve only read a couple this year, but do think that The Night of the Gun by David Carr earned its spot. I was less impressed with Netherland, by Joseph O’Neill. After reading a glowing write-up, I had high expectations, but wasn’t as impressed as the reviewer. Once in paperback, it will do well as a book club read, but I wouldn’t put it at the top of my 2008 list.

At the front of my queue from the rest of the NYT picks – Nonfiction: American Lion, Factory Girls, Hot Flat & Crowded.        Fiction: American Wife, Beijing Coma, A Mercy.

We’ll see soon which ones made the Top 10!

2 Comments

Filed under Book Recommendations

2 responses to “NYT ’08 Notable List

  1. “Night of the Gun” is the one you recommended to me, right? I need some good books in my life.

  2. tarakusumoto

    I have been such a blog slacker! Still trying to figure out how to navigate email accounts, facebook and blog comments ( ; Yes, The Night of the Gun was one of my favorite nonfiction reads from last year. What are you reading now?

    I’ve got a couple great ones going (also nonfiction) that you may like: “The World is What it Is” (authorized bio on V.S. Naipaul – a bit heady but well written and a good story) and “When the Crocodile Eats the Sun”, a memoir by Peter Godwin, who grew up in Zimbabwe, has spent time in NY and London… especially enlightening with everything going on (still!) in Zimbabwe right now.

Leave a Reply

