Ideas Needed: Fiction to Take Your Time With

In exactly 2 weeks, we leave for our Beijing and Japan trip. And of course, I’m preoccupied with what book(s) I’m going to bring on the long trip. I know exactly what I want: a good thick book that will take awhile to read…. beautifully written fiction with characters you fall in love with …. a story that you want to take your time with because you don’t want it to end….

The best examples I can think of for this are East of Eden, John Steinbeck; Suite Francaise, Irene Nemirovsky; Stones from the River, Ursula Heigi; Angle of Repose or Crossing to Safety; Wallace Stegner.

So my question to you is: what else would you recommend that fits into this category?

Please send recommendations my way…! Xie xie…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ideas Needed: Fiction to Take Your Time With

  1. i read murakami’s short stories while i was in japan. it does not really fit the long, descriptive novel category but it worked well for me. nothing like slouching in your ryokan with a cold asahi and reading a little murakami.

Leave a Reply

