So Sad to See Stacey’s Go

Last week, when the Shelf Awareness  newsletter brought the news that Stacey’s Bookstore was going out of business, I was heartbroken. I haven’t stopped thinking about it since.

Stacey’s was my go-to book haven when I lived in San Francisco. Right next door to my office, it was where I took a (very!) extended lunch break to stand in line to get It’s Not about the Bike signed by Lance Armstrong (he was so much shorter than I expected!), where I could always find the perfect book along their staff recommendation wall, where I still return every single time I’ve been back in the city over the last four years.

For someone who has zero willpower to walk past a bookstore, and even goes so far as to orchestrate road trips to include bookstore visits, the increasing casualties of these indie staples get me in the gut. Will my kids have access to indie book enclaves? Will my only source of books be Amazon, Costco and Walmart?

Here’s the deal, folks: support your independent bookstores. A couple weeks ago, David Streitfeld from the New York Times wrote an article, Bargain Hunting for Books, and Feeling Sheepish About It, that still fires me up. If you claim to be a true book lover, then aren’t those couple of extra dollars woth it?

For the last several years, I’ve worked at indie bookstores, not for the paycheck, but for the pure love of books, for the intelligent, curious and open-minded community who gather there, and because of a commitment to make sure independent bookstores don’t meet the same fate as the local specialty shops of our parents’ and grandparents’ generation.

R.I.P. Stacey’s.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

